DATE:  May 1, 2013



David Ward (Chancellor) 

Ron Kalil (Biological Sciences)                  

Martin Cadwallader (Graduate School)                                        LD Oakley (University Committee Appointee)

Laura A. Dunek (Associated Students of Madison)

Ken Potter (University Committee Appointee)

Peter Lipton (University Committee Representative)

Gary Sandefur (Administrative Appointee)

Mark Seidenberg (Social Studies)

Ramon Aldag (University Committee Appointee)   

Lea Jacobs (Arts and Humanities)

Jeff Shokler (Academic Staff Appointee)  

Jacquie Hitchon (University Committee Appointee)

Richard Straub (Physical Sciences)

FROM: Paul M. DeLuca, Jr. (Chair)

 RE:       Thursday, May 9, 2013 UAPC Meeting - 350 BASCOM HALL, 3:30 – 5:00pm
(Printable agenda in pdf format)

Your attendance is important.   Please let me or Jocelyn Milner know if you will be late or absent.

1.     Welcome, introductions, opening announcements. 


2.     Automatic Consent – Minutes of the April 18, 2013, meeting.  UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.01

3.     Automatic Consent – Correction of new capstone certificate name.  At the April 18, 2013, UAPC meeting the agenda included the Capstone Certificate in Computer Sciences, which should have been approved with the name Capstone Certificate in Computer Sciences for Professionals.  This notice makes that correction for the record.   UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.02 

4.     Automatic Consent – Capstone Certificate in International Politics and Practice.  Approval is conditional on pending approval at the May 10, 2013, Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC) meeting.  UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.03 

5.     Automatic Consent – Move the administrative home of the PhD in Endocrinology-Reproductive Physiology from the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology to the Office of Basic Research, Biotechnology, and Graduate Studies in the SMPH Dean’s Office.  Approval is conditional on pending approval at the May 10, 2013, Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC) meeting.  UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.04


6.     Approval Item – Annual Report of the University General Education Committee (UGEC).  Presenter: Elaine Klein, chair of the UGEC and assistant dean in the College of Letters and Science.  (The UAPC has delegated the oversight of the general education curriculum to the UGEC and hears a report annually on the status of general education.)  UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.05

7.     Approval Item – Directed/Independent Study Guidelines.  Presenter:  Jocelyn Milner, director of Academic Planning and Institutional Research.  Guidelines: UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.06, Support memos: UAPC Doc 2013.05.09.07


8.     Upcoming agenda items - Several capstone proposals will be up for automatic consent in June. 

Meeting Schedule for 2012-13

June 24 (Monday)


Dates and agenda materials are posted at 


Deans:  Lori Berquam, Robert Golden, Mark Markel, Katharyn May, François Ortalo-Magné, Guido Podesta, Margaret Raymond, Paul Robbins, Jeanette Roberts, Ian Robertson, Jeff Russell, Soyeon Shim, Kathryn VandenBosch, Julie Underwood

Also:  Teresa Adams, Joanne Berg, Joann Carr, Connie Chapman, Cathy Easter, Dan Edlebeck, Toni Good, Margaret Harrigan, Kelly Haslam, Clare Huhn, Phil Hull, Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Elaine Klein, Sara Lazenby, Jennifer Martin (Grad School), Jocelyn Milner, Mo Noonan Bischof, Tim Norris, Chris Olsen, Scott Owczarek, Andrea Poehling, Rebecca R. Ring, Doug Rose, Wren Singer, Steve Stern, Damon Williams