University of Wisconsin–Madison

October 20, 2016

UW Madison Crest


DATE: October 12, 2016


Rebecca Blank (Chancellor) Dennis Miller (Arts and Humanities)
William Karpus (Graduate School) Carol Pope (University Staff Appointee)
John Karl Scholz (Administrative Appointee) Debra Shapiro (Academic Staff Appointee)
Seth Blair (University Committee Appointee) James Skinner (University Committee Appointee)
Brian Gould (Social Studies) Sarah Thal (University Committee Appointee)
Ed Jackson (Biological Sciences) Darryl Thelen (University Committee Appointee)
Cathy Middlecamp (Physical Sciences) Anja Wanner (University Committee Appointee)
Matthew Zinsli (Associated Students of Madison)

FROM: Sarah C. Mangelsdorf (Chair)

RE: THURSDAY, October 20, 2016 UAPC Meeting – 52 BASCOM HALL, 3:30-5:00 pm

(pdf copy of the agenda suitable for printing)

Your attendance is important. Please let me or Jocelyn Milner know if you will be late or absent.

  1. Welcome, introductions, opening announcements.


  1. Automatic Consent – Minutes of the September 15, 2016, meeting. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.01
  2. Rename the named option Applied Computing and Engineering Data Analytics to Engineering Data Analytics, Master of Engineering, Engineering Major, College of Engineering. This action is conditional upon approval at the October 14, 2016, Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC) meeting. This action is effective Fall 2016. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.02
  3. Suspend admissions to the Capstone in French Studies. The action to suspend admissions is the result of low-award program review. This action is conditional upon approval at the October 14, 2016, Graduate Faculty Executive Committee (GFEC) meeting. This action is effective Fall 2016. A plan to revise the certificate will be submitted to L&S by May 19, 2018. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.03


  1. Discontinue the Artist Certificate in Music, Mead Witter School of Music, College of Letters and Science. The certificate has had no awards conferred in the past three years and has been conferred only once in the past ten years. The discontinuation is the result of program review. This action is effective Fall 2016. Presenters: Susan Zaeske, associate dean, L&S. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.04
  2. Full proposal to authorize a new degree/major BS-Education Studies, Education Policy Studies, School of Education. The Notice of Intent for this full program proposal was approved by UAPC on April 21, 2016. After UAPC approval, proposals for new degree/majors go to the Board of Regents for final approval. The Department of Education Policy Studies is up to date for program review. Presenters: Adam Nelson, professor, Education Policy Studies; Julie Mead, associate dean; Carolyn Kelley, senior associate dean; and Diana Hess, dean, School of Education. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.05


  1. The Wisconsin Experience. Presenters: Steve Cramer, Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning; Lori Berquam, Dean of Students. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.06
  2. Admissions Marketing Survey. Presenter: Steve Hahn, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.07
  3. HLC Accreditation Update. Presenter: Jocelyn Milner, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs. UAPC Doc 2016.10.20.08

Meeting Schedule for 2016-17, 3:30-5:00 pm:
November 17, 2016; December 15, 2016; January 19, 2017; February 16, 2017; March 16, 2017; April 20, 2017; May 18, 2017; June 15, 2017

Agenda materials and policy documents are posted at UAPC Meeting Dates and Deadlines for Submitting Material


Copies: Diana Hess, Carolyn Kelley, Julie Mead, Adam Nelson, Susan Zaeske

Deans: John Baldacchino, Lori Berquam, Robert Golden, Diana Hess, Mark Markel, François Ortalo-Magné, Guido Podestá, Margaret Raymond, Paul Robbins, Ian Robertson, Jeff Russell, Linda Scott, Soyeon Shim, Steve Swanson, Kathryn VandenBosch

Also: Teresa Adams, Jeff Armstrong, Michael Bernard-Donals, Suzanne Broadberry, Steve Cramer, Heather Daniels, Elizabeth Fredricks, Toni Good, Marty Gustafson, Steve Hahn, Margaret Harrigan, Clare Huhn, Phil Hull, Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Derek Kindle, Elaine Klein, Sarah Kuba, Sara Lazenby, John Lease, Marsha Mailick, Jocelyn Milner, Mo Noonan Bischof, Tim Norris, Scott Owczarek, Rebecca Ring, Patrick Sims, Wren Singer, Steve Smith, Beth Warner