University of Wisconsin–Madison

February 17, 2011

UW Madison Crest


DATE:        February 10, 2011

TO:              UAPC MEMBERS 2010-11

Biddy Martin (Chancellor) Jacquie Hitchon (University Committee Appointee)
Susan Babcock (University Committee Representative) Ron Kalil (Biological Sciences)
Martin Cadwallader (Graduate School) Erik Paulson (Associated Students of Madison)
Chris DeMarco (Physical Sciences) Ken Potter (University Committee Appointee)
Lisa Forrest (University Committee Appointee) Mary Ray (Academic Staff Appointee)
Gary Green (Social Sciences) Gary Sandefur  (Administrative Appointee)
Jon McKenzie (temporarily replacing Stephen Hilyard)  (Arts and Humanities) Dan Schaefer (University Committee Appointee)

FROM:      Paul M. DeLuca, Jr. (Chair)

RE:              Thursday February 17, 2011 UAPC Meeting – 350 BASCOM HALL, 3:30 – 5:00 p.m.

1.        Automatic Consent Item – Minutes of the January 20, 2010 meeting.  UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.01.

2.        Approval – Establish a Center for Financial Security, School of Human Ecology.  Presenters:  Wendy Way, Associate Dean, School of Human Ecology; J. Michael Collins, Professor and Center Director.  The proposal has been revised to respond to the questions raised at the January meeting.
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.02.

3.        Approval – Review of the proposals to implement undergraduate majors in Environmental Studies and Environmental Science.  Presenters:  Chris DeMarco, UAPC member and chair of the proposal review committee; Eric Wilcots, associate dean, College of Letters and Science; Nancy Westphal-Johnson, associate dean, College of Letters and Science; Bill Tracy, interim dean, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences; Gregg Mitman, director, Nelson Institute; Steve Ventura, professor of Soil Science and co-chair of the Environmental Sciences planning committee;  Bill Cronon, professor of History and chair of the Environmental Studies planning committee.
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.03 (review committee report cover letter),
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.04 (Environmental Sciences report),
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.05 (Environmental Studies report),
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.06 (Environmental Sciences proposal),
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.07 (Environmental Studies proposal),
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.08 (Why Two Majors?).

4.        Approval – Rename the Institute for Cross-College Biology Education to Institute for Biology Education.  Rename the Center for Biology Education to the Center for Biology Education Outreach.  Presenter: Teri Balser, director of the Institute for Cross-College Biology Education.
UAPC Doc 2011.02.17.09.


Copies:  Wendy Way, J. Michael Collins, Nicole Truog, Eric Wilcots, Nancy Westphal-Johnson, Bill Cronon, Steve Ventura, Teri Balser

Academic Deans and Directors:  Lori Berquam, Gilles Bousquet, Daryl Buss, Jim Campbell, Kenneth Davis, Robin Douthitt, Robert Golden, Katharyn May, Gregg Mitman, Paul Peercy, Jeanette Roberts, Joan Schmit, Bill Tracy, Julie Underwood

 Also:  Teresa Adams, Bruce Beck, Joanne Berg, Aaron Brower, Toni Good, Karen Hanson, Margaret Harrigan, Kelly Haslam, Clare Huhn, Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Elaine Klein, Sara Lazenby, Kathleen Matthews-Risley, Jocelyn Milner, David Musolf, Tim Norris, Scott Owczarek, Doug Rose, Donna Silver, Steve Stern, Damon Williams

Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

University of Wisconsin-Madison

150 Bascom Hall   500 Lincoln Drive   Madison, WI   53706

608.262.1304     FAX:  608.265.3324