University of Wisconsin–Madison

April 15, 2010

DATE:      April 8, 2010

TO:          UAPC MEMBERS 2009-10

Biddy Martin (Chancellor) Jon McKenzie (Arts and Humanities)
Judith Burstyn (University Committee Representative) Erik Paulson (Associated Students of Madison)
Martin Cadwallader (Graduate School) Ken Potter (University Committee Appointee)
Chris DeMarco (Physical Sciences) Mary Ray (Academic Staff Appointee)
Lisa Forrest (University Committee Appointee) Gary Sandefur  (Administrative Appointee)
Gary Green (Social Sciences) Dan Schaefer (University Committee Appointee)
Ron Kalil(Biological Sciences) Wendy Way (University Committee Appointee)

FROM:     Paul M. DeLuca, Jr. (Chair)

RE:          Thursday, April 15, 2010 UAPC Meeting – 350 BASCOM HALL, 3:30 – 5:00 p.m.

1.       Automatic Consent Item – Minutes of the March 18, 2010 meeting.  Attachment 1.

2.       Approval – Consolidation of four degrees (BS-Natural Sciences, BS-Natural Resources, BS-Agricultural Sciences, BS-International Agriculture and Natural Resources) into a single Bachelor of Science degree, in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences.  Presenters: Irwin Goldman, Interim Dean, Dan Schaefer, Interim Associate Dean.  Attachment 2.

3.       Approval – Several name changes for programs associated with the Department of Gender and Women’s Studies are proposed as listed in the table below.  Presenters:  Julie D’Acci, chair of the Department of Gender and Women’s Studies; Gary Sandefur, dean of the College of Letters and Science.  The graduate-level name changes are contingent on approval at the April 8 Graduate Faculty Executive Committee meeting.  Attachment 3.


Current Name

Proposed Name

Undergraduate major

Women’s Studies

Gender and Women’s Studies

Undergraduate certificate

Women’s Studies at the Undergraduate Level

Gender and Women’s Studies at the Undergraduate Level

Graduate certificate

Women’s Studies at the Graduate Level

Gender and Women’s Studies at the Graduate Level

Master of Arts

Women’s Studies/Gender Studies

Gender and Women’s Studies

PhD Minor

Women’s Studies

Gender and Women’s Studies


Women’s Studies Research Center

Center for Research on Gender and Women

4.       Approval (Automatic Consent) – Transfer the academic and administrative home of the MS-Medical Genetics program from the Department of Medical Genetics to the Department of Pediatrics, both in the School of Medicine and Public Health.  This action was approved at the March 12, 2010 Graduate Faculty Executive Committee meeting.  Attachment 4.

5.       Discussion and Approval – Program Review Guidelines.  Presenter:  Jocelyn Milner, director of Academic Planning and Analysis.  The revised document includes comments received from UAPC members and schools and colleges.  Please come prepared to discuss the revised version of the program review guidelines and be prepared for a potential vote to formally adopt these guidelines.  Attachment 5.

6.       Information – Course Guide.  Presenter:  Karen Hanson, Associate Registrar.

7.      Information – Update on the Obsolete Course Project and Course Proposal Process Project.  Presenter:  Jocelyn Milner.  Jocelyn will provide an update at the meeting.  In place of a written report, she thinks that the attached commentary on “curricular glut” is relevant to this discussion.  Attachment 6.

8.       Information – Tentative agenda items for the May 20 meeting include:  joint review of the MFA-Creative Writing; joint review of the PhD in Second Language Acquisition; joint review of the BS-Engineering Physics; report from the working group on centers and institutes.


Copies: Sarah Pfatteicher, Michael Culbertson, Catherine Reiser, Ellen Wald, Julie D’Acci.

Academic Deans and Directors:  Lori Berquam, Gilles Bousquet, Daryl Buss, Kenneth Davis, Robin Douthitt, Robert Golden, Irwin Goldman, Michael Knetter, Katharyn May, Gregg Mitman, Paul Peercy, Jeanette Roberts, Julie Underwood, Marv Van Kekerix.

Also:  Teresa Adams, Bruce Beck, Joanne Berg, Aaron Brower, Dan Edlebeck, Toni Good, Margaret Harrigan, Clare Huhn, Eden Inoway-Ronnie, Elaine Klein, Judith Kornblatt, Kathleen Matthews-Risley, Jocelyn Milner, David Musolf, Tim Norris, Doug Rose, Karen Hanson, Donna Silver, Steve Stern, Damon Williams .

Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Wisconsin-Madison
150 Bascom Hall   500 Lincoln Drive   Madison, WI   53706